The U.S. export regulations restrict imports and exports to certain destinations without U.S. Government authorization (which includes an export license, general license, exemption, or license exception).

  • Most activities with embargoed sanctioned countries will need a license- Please work with the Export Compliance office well in advance of planning any interaction.

  • Embargoes sanctions (CUBA, IRAN, NORTH KOREA, SUDAN, and SYRIA) prohibit ALL transactions (including imports and exports) without a license authorization.
  • Targeted sanctions prohibit certain exports of items, data and/or software without a license authorization.


Step-by-step review:

  1. Consult the OFAC sanctions programs for any international transaction/activity (shipments, travels, visitors, etc.). For the most current countries information, please visit the U.S. Department of Treasury website.
  2. If the activity involves an item/activity controlled under the EAR or the ITAR, you must consult, in addition to the OFAC sanctions programs, the regulations administered by the EAR or the ITAR.


If your transaction involves an embargoed or sanctioned country, please contact the Export Compliance Office prior to proceeding and with as much advance notice as possible.



15 CFR 746 - website


22 CFR 126.1 - website


Regs & E.O. - website


Embargoed countries:

Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Sudan, Syria.



(a) Prohibited countries: Belarus, Burma, China, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela.

(c) U.N. Arms Embargoed countries:

Afghanistan, Cambodia, Central African Republic, Cyprus, Congo, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Haiti, Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, Russia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Zimbabwe.

Embargoed countries:

Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Sudan, Syria.


Targeted sanctions countries:

Crimea, Donetsk, & Luhansk - Regions of Ukraine, Iraq, Russian industry sector.



(f) to (v) special policy :
Iraq, Afghanistan, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Haiti, Libya, Vietnam, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Liberia, Cote d'Ivoire, Cyprus, Zimbabwe, Lebanon, Central African Republic, Sudan.

Targeted sanctions countries:

Balkans, Belarus, Myanmar (Burma), Central African Republic, Congo, Cote d'Ivoire, Iraq, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Ukraine/Russia, Venezuela, Yemen, and Zimbabwe.

Military End-Use/End-User licensing requirements:

People's Republic of China, Russia* and Venezuela*.



Prohibited Parties:

- Denied Parties List

- Entity List

- Unverified List

Prohibited Parties:

- Debarred List

- Munitions E.C. Order


Prohibited Parties:

- Specially Designated Nationals and Blocked Persons List (SDN)


Proliferation activities

Other Red Flags

Proliferation activities

Other Red Flags

Other Red Flags